WhatsApp had previously announced that it was seeking to find ways to make it possible for businesses to communicate with users. For example, it envisions a bank being able to contact a WhatsApp user through the service to inform them of a possibly fraudulent transaction or an airline notifying a user of a delayed flight.
The most notable change however is WhatsApp intention to connect your phone number to your Facebook account, which some users won't be thrilled about.
"By coordinating more with Facebook, we'll be able to do things like track basic metrics about how often people use our services and better fight spam on WhatsApp," a company blog post reads.
For now, however, it possible to opt out either on the new Terms and Conditions screen or within 30 days after accepting the new Terms and Conditions.
If you already accepted the new Terms, you can still opt out for a period of time by going to Settings -> Account -> Share my Account Info. There is an option in here to opt out too if you uncheck the box.
Sources and Recommended Reading:
Looking ahead for WhatsApp: blog.whatsapp.com
Written by: James Delahunty @ 25 Aug 2016 14:08